Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brad9213

Getting soil ready for Fall

Brad9213
10 years ago

Hello,

I recently decided to undertake the task of creating a beautiful garden with all of my fiance's favorite flowers, but as the planting time is not until Fall for most of these(Peonies, Orchids, Lilys, Hydrangeas), I was advised to start working up my soil, and planting some basic annuals, such as Cosmos, marigolds, dahlias, etc.

My question is, where do I begin with my soil? What equipment would I need to test it, what type of compost or fertilizer will I need to get it ready for the fall, etc.

I am completely new to this, and am going to be diving in pretty heavily, so I could definitely use some starting advice to point me in the right direction.

Comments (18)

• Kimmsr
    10 years ago

The United States is a big place with many soil types and climates as is Zone 8. The only thing that zone tells anyone is which plants will survive a normal winter where you are which is why it is called the Plant Hardiness Zone.
    So where in the United States are you?
    You should have a good reliable soil test for soil pH and levels of major nutrients done, do not rely on a home test kit.
    You may also want to use these simple soil tests,
    ) Soil test for organic matter. From that soil sample put enough of the rest to make a 4 inch level in a clear 1 quart jar, with a tight fitting lid. Fill that jar with water and replace the lid, tightly. Shake the jar vigorously and then let it stand for 24 hours. Your soil will settle out according to soil particle size and weight. For example, a good loam will have about 1-3/4 inch (about 45%) of sand on the bottom. about 1 inch (about 25%) of silt next, about 1 inch (25%) of clay above that, and about 1/4 inch (about 5%) of organic matter on the top.