Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ken1_gw

compost ratio question

ken1
12 years ago

Question here.

I looked at a compost ratio calculator (klickitat county)

and put in 5 cu ft grass and 5 cu ft leaves , which gave me a ratio of 24.66. optimum ratio is 25 to 30, so that looks pretty good. Now if you add laying hen manure to the mix, your ratio drops to 13.72. Why would adding chicken manure screw up the ratio so bad? I've been doing exactly this ratio for several years

Comments (10)

• ZoysiaSod
    12 years ago

That's a good question. You've been on GardenWeb a long time, so you obviously know manure has a lot of nitrogen in it, but maybe not so much to lower the C:N ratio so drastically to 13 to 1, as the calculator says.

Organic Gardening for Dummies lists old manure at 20:1 and lists N-P-K for chicken manure as 3-1-1 (rabbit's even higher at 5 - 3 - 2 -- got lotsa rabbits here).

The Organic Lawn Care Manual lists chicken manure a little lower in Nitrogen than the Dummies book:
    2 - 1.5 - 0.5

Again, your question is very good. Not sure why your calculator drops the C:N ratio so much to 13:1 when Dummies lists general manure at 20:1.

There's variation in the books because Let It Rot! list general manure at 15:1 and manure with bedding at 23:1.

Let It Rot! lists fresh hen manure N-P-K at 1.1 - 0.9 - 0.5 and dried hen manure with litter at 2.8 - 2.8 - 1.5 .

Hen manure is nothing like bat guano at 10 - 4.5 - 2

Maybe the calculator is confusing hen manure with bat guano??

At what web site did you find that calculator on?

There's a calculator on the Aerobin400.com web site at
    https://www.aerobin400.com/aerobin400-USA/compostsimulator.aspx
    and if you select poultry manure and enter 1 pound, it gives a C:N of 10:1. So maybe that's why. Maybe hen manure and bat guano are those special manures with lots and lots of nitrogen.

• Kimmsr
    12 years ago

Which ratio are you using? Carbon to Nitrogen, C:N, or the amount of manure to vegetative waste?