Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sequi_gw

Slugs and the compost pile

sequi
14 years ago

I've been running a compost pile for about 3 years now, and I've noticed that there's a link between slugs and compost. It makes sense -- slugs are attracted to decaying matter, and a compost pile is a lot of decaying matter. In fact, they're just one of the macro organisms that help break it down.

The problem is that whenever I apply my compost, that bed develops larger than normal slug infestations. I don't drop slugs into the vegetable bed deliberately (I eliminate any I see) -- I assume that they're coming from eggs in the compost. And in the past few seasons I've confirmed this link -- beds with home-made compost have more slugs, beds with commercial compost or nothing applied have fewer slugs. I've even rotated applications over the seasons to eliminate location as a factor -- a slug population boom is definitely related to my addition of homemade compost.

Anybody else have this experience? How do you minimize this issue? I currently handle it by just dealing with the increased slug populations until they're reduced, sometimes by using Sluggo, sometimes by picking, sometimes with traps. I'd rather not cause my the slug population booms in the first place.

Comments (16)

• joepyeweed
    14 years ago

Are the slugs damaging your plants?

• dchall_san_antonio
    14 years ago

Many years before I took up organic gardening I got rid of all the snails and slugs in my yard with ammonium sulfate fertilizer. It is a salt and we know what salt does to slugs and snails. Those that were not killed immediately were trapped by all the salty fertilizer everywhere.

Ammonium sulfate used to be dirt cheap. You could get a lifetime supply for $5. I haven't looked at it since 2002 so I don't know what the cost is now.

• tsugajunkie z5 SE WI ♱
    14 years ago