Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elisa72_gw

How long to compost cardboard?

elisa72
13 years ago

If I put cardboard over my garden plot and keep it wet, how long will it take to compost enough to run over it with a rototiller? I've never used cardboard in the garden before and am having a terrible time with weeds in the veggie plot so want to try this method.

Thanks!

Comments (16)

• robertz6
    13 years ago

It won't 'compost' enough to break down, rather it will slowly separate enough after a period of wetness. How long will it take small pieces of cardboard to break down to the compost level when mixed in soil -- a few years I expect.

• joepyeweed
    13 years ago

The more you till, the more weeds you will get.

If you put the cardboard down and bury it under mulch, my estimate would be one to two years depending upon how much life you have in the soil.

• elisa72
    Original Author
    13 years ago

"The more you till, the more weeds you will get." How so?

"It won't 'compost' enough to break down, rather it will slowly separate enough after a period of wetness." Indeed, "compost" was not the right word. So how long to soften enough to till? I was hoping that someone had actually done this before and could tell me from experience, although I'll take guesses too!

Thanks!

• elisa72
    Original Author
    13 years ago

I'm putting down the cardboard to kill the grass and weeds. I can't till now because it's too wet, and I want to build tall rows for planting. IOW, I'll be reshaping the plot from flat to trenches and rows.

Perhaps I should just plan to pull off the cardboard as planting time approaches, reshape, then lay the cardboard down again and cover with mulch. Or something like that.

• jonas302
    13 years ago

You can till most spots after the cardboard has been down for a summer won't even know its there the wetter it is faster it will break down
    the no till crowd has a good point but in the end its your garden to do as you please in it