Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
writtenonwater

Need a compost bin?

writtenonwater
10 years ago

I am new to composting, but as my garden grows, it's becoming necessary to save on buying bags of gardening soil. I see folks who buy composting bins and others who throw things in a pile. I live in a townhouse, so I'm leaning toward a rotating bin to avoid bothering the neighbors, but don't see why they are so expensive!

Comments (15)

• robertz6
    10 years ago

One reason is to pay for all the advertising. It takes money to convince people to pay $80 to $500 for a tumbler when a $20 mesh bin DIY system hold more! And after a year and half I gave up my tumbler for mesh bins. They do better in the winter, and surprisingly mine was even easier on my back than the tumbler.

• toxcrusadr
    10 years ago

Yes, forget the tumbler and get a simple mesh bin, or if you want an even neater appearance, a nice black plastic bin with a lid.

• writtenonwater
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you for the reply! Sounds like I should reconsider my purchase. What do you mean when you say the tumbler didn't do as well in the winter?

Thank you!

• jctsai8b
    10 years ago

Can you find a free barrel somewhere?

• writtenonwater
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you all! Actually, after checking Craig's List, I was able to find a rotating composter for $15. Worth it?

• robertz6
    10 years ago

" What do you mean when you say the tumbler didn't do as well in the winter?"

My mesh bins are 4'by8'by24" high. There is a lot more bulk, and it sits on the ground. So while the tumbler will pretty much be frozen any time the winter temp is below 32F, there will be more activity in the mesh bin. And there is access for any interested worms, which is a plus.

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    10 years ago

'Worth it?'