Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenman62

what are coffee grounds (brown - green?)

greenman62
10 years ago

im pretty new to composting.
I have a LOT of grounds from starbucks.
probably 60-80 pounds.
They sat there by themselves for a couple of weeks,
They actually started breaking down a bit even though it was cold, i had added some fruit peels, and added some beneficial fungi i had for the garden.
The grounds were turning brown, and some had some white fungus on them.

Last week i added 2 large bags of mixed leaves and grass, and turned the pile twice since.

I dont know if its getting hot, and i had no way to shred the leaves.

I dont know what the % is supposed to be, and i dont know where the grounds fall (green/brown/black?)

any ideas ?

Comments (13)

• joepyeweed
    10 years ago

There is a good FAQ link at the top of this forum. You might want to check it out, it should answer most of your questions. Read through it and then check back here if you have any more q's.

Not that I don't want to talk about how great coffee grounds are...

I am jealous that you are turning a pile when my is buried under snow right now.

• tiffy_z5_6_can
    10 years ago

It is a green.

Having composted with UCGs in great quantities in the past, I envy you. :O)

• Kimmsr
    10 years ago

Coffee grounds are about 2 percent Nitrogen so they are considered a "green" or a source of N.
    A white "fungus" may be an indication the mix is too wet, but then again if may be the mycelia of mushrooms, a fungus that is at work digesting those coffee grounds. Generally fungi prefer a wetter environment and cooler then do the bacteria that digest most organic matter.

• albert_135   39.17°N 119.76°W 4695ft.
    10 years ago

Doesn't Starbucks have a web page telling us all about it? I''l do a search when I have more time.

I was probably thinking of the Sunset analysis linked by someone below.

This post was edited by albert_135 on Sat, Mar 1, 14 at 15:07

• Kimmsr
    10 years ago