Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladon_gw

Using (partly) unfinished compost come planting season...

ladon
13 years ago

So as a composting novice, my understanding is that unfinished compost should really not be used as a soil amendment, as the continuing breakdown of leaves and such will draw nutrients from the soil that the plants should be getting. Is this correct? Right now my compost pile is progressing nicely. Its hot and definitely breaking down. But if it's not broken down completely by the time I'm ready to plant my veg garden in April or May, what do I do with the unfinished pile? Is there a way of separating finished compost out and let the rest continue its process? Can I use the unfinished compost as a top dressing and let it break down through the season? My big concern is that living in Los Angeles, I am limited on space. My pile is in the same plot as the garden, which will have to move once its time to plant, and I don't know where to put the unfinished pile. Anyway, any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thx,

Don

Comments (26)

• nygardener
    13 years ago

If it's hot and breaking down now, it should be ready by April or May. Two weeks before you're ready to plant, whether the compost is finished or not, fork it into your soil down to a depth of a foot or so. You could pull out any really big chunks and leave them to compost in a corner of the garden.

• leira
    13 years ago

I would try to work it in earlier than 2 weeks before planting, if possible, but other than that, I agree with nygardener. I think you'll be OK if the compost is most of the way there, and you get it into the ground early.

• Kimmsr
    13 years ago