Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
charleslou23

making soil acidic

charleslou23
13 years ago

not sure if anyone tried this and works... i dig a hole and put some peat moss and maybe even pour some vinegar in the hole, would that make the soil a bit acidic eventually?

i'm trying this method first without using chemical or sulfur based stuff.

Comments (67)

• blazeaglory
    11 years ago

This works fine and is elemental sulfur and gypsum. I use it for my Citrus. My soil was Ph 7.7 when I first added it about 2 months ago, now my soil is a little above 7. I figure at this rate my soil should be where I need it by the end of the year. I might have to add more though. I also added and organic blend of food and bacteria so I think that is helping also. They do have directions for blueberries.

http://www.espoma.com/p_consumer/pdf/products/Esp_Soil_acidif.pdf

• joe386
    10 years ago

Would LEYLANDII cuttings make the soil acidic i have just planted a hydrangea, im pretty new to gardening so any advice would be great

• TXEB
    10 years ago

Probably not - see link below.

Do you know what your soil pH is currently? How about calcium level, water hardness and pH?

Here is a link that might be useful: Pine Needles Cause Acid Soil - Fact or Fiction

• blue_skink
    10 years ago

Has anyone heard of a powdered food supplement called MSM? It is a form of sulfur. If, as someone above stated, certain soil microbes use sulfur as a food source and the end result is sulfuric acid, which lowers the pH, then maybe this would work, too. Any opinions? Thx.

• TXEB
    10 years ago

Sulfur, as in garden sulfur, can be used to lower soil pH. The mechanism is as you describe - soil microbes oxidize the sulfur and in the process with water it effectively becomes sulfuric acid. However, for it to work you can't have an excess of free lime present in the soil, and any irrigation water needs to be fairly low in carbonates.

• blue_skink
    10 years ago