Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peasher

Another buried-pet question

Peasher
10 years ago

Hi, noob here.

Asher, my blue heeler, will never suffer again after next Thursday. I can't bring myself to say it any other way.

We plan to bring her home in a box (no way I'll be able to bear carrying her carcass) and bury her. I've read about depth and preventing disturbance from scavengers & other animals, and plan to cover her grave site temporarily with pavers.

In honor and remembrance of her wonderful ability to soothe me when my heart is troubled, I have decided to plant chamomile seeds indoors and transplant them over her when the seedlings are ready.

She is not diseased or on medication, just old and her body is giving up on her. Is there any reason, once the chamomile is ready, it could not be harvested for tea?

Thank you in advance for any input, suggestions, advice, etc.

(This picture is several years old. It's Asher in her prime.)

Comments (12)

• poaky1
    10 years ago

Poor pooch, I had to put my Brandy down after she couldn't walk anymore. She couldn't stand up to make poo in the yard anymore. She was about 15 yrs old. Not sure what your vet can do to make it most peaceful or okay for you. But My vet put my Brandy in a compostable zip up bag. I would say from the name, DUH, the remains go back to the earth. I put my Brandy in an area that I may have to add soil to in a couple years. It really sucks when you have to make the decision to end their life, vs. them going on their own.

• poaky1
    10 years ago

My Brandy was a Chow Chow German shepherd mix. Nobody may care, but I wanted to add that.

• mckenziek
    10 years ago

So sorry for your loss. I don't know the answer to your question, but I can't see why it would be a problem to harvest the chamomile. At my property there is a concrete tomb marked "He was our friend." I can only assume it is a dog of a previous owner. I think I will plant some flowers around it. Maybe some poppies.

• lazy_gardens