Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mesquiteman

Shuould I just till in my pecan shell mulch?

mesquiteman
10 years ago

Hello folks,

I am relatively new to gardening and have now been through my first full year! It will soon be time to plan my spring garden and I have a question.

I used pecan shell mulch for my garden back last spring. For my fall garden, I just pulled it back and re-planted. I feel the need to till the soil this spring before planting the spring garden. I am not sure what to do with the mulch.

Should I try to scrape it off and set it aside or just till it into the soil? My concern is that I seem to remember reading somewhere that wood chips mixed into soil robs the soil of nitrogen while they decompose. Is this correct? Pecan shells are not technically wood chips but I would guess they are similar.

Any thoughts or recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

I am in central Texas if it matters any.

Thanks for your time.

Comments (7)

• paleogardener
    10 years ago

If you are prepared to continue to add organic matl. to the soil such as frequent applications of compost or mulching after tilling then I don't think it's an issue IMO. Observe the plants you put in after tilling & amending, they will tell you if nitrogen is a problem. This will get you closer to the earth into which you plant & besides learning as you go is part of the kick of all this "gardening" :)

• klem1
    10 years ago