Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
angela_t

Topsoil-compost ratio, newbie question! :)

angela.t
12 years ago

Hey ya'll! I have a question for all you soil experts. ^_^ I'm new to the whole gardening experience, and I think that soil is probably the most confusing part! lol

So here's a little about the project I'm doing. I'm doing four 4' by 8' raised beds, probably 10"-11" deep. I'm only going to be growing vegetables in them, quite a bit being tomatoes.

I talked to probably 6-7 different nurseries on the phone, and even the local extension agent about the kind of soil I should get. I get the prices and make-up of each company's soil, and they all say they have the best soil, it's the only way to grow veggies, yada yada. I suppose since they're trying to sell a product, it's to be expected. ;)

I've gone to six different places (four nurseries), to see and feel their soil. I've found one company that has the best topsoil I've seen out of all the places, and an amazing horse manure compost blended with fine bark, as well. My question to you is this: for what I want to do, veggies, in raised beds...

1.)Could I grow veggies in a good topsoil and

compost/fine bark mix if I put a general slow

release fertilizer in it as well? (don't worry,

hoping to find an organic one. :) )

2.)If so, what would be the best topsoil/compost

ratio?

P.S-I know things like peat moss are good for holding moisture in and what not, but we pay one price for unlimited "irrigation" water. I don't want to leave the fish high and dry, but at the same time, I don't have to worry about the water retention properties of my soil, say, as much as other people around the country might.

I look forward to hearing back, as I need to place my order super soon! Hopefully with ya'lls help I can put in my order this week! ^_^

Comments (30)

• jonhughes
    12 years ago