Return to the Soil Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Some questions on leaving fallow

Posted by BrianW23 none (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 23, 14 at 8:13

With the fertilizers we have today, how important is it to have a fallow year when growing crops? Is it ecologically better to have a fallow year than to use excessive fertilizer? Is it necessary to have a cover crop?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Some questions on leaving fallow

I'm no expert but I would guess it depends on what you are growing and how large of a plot you have. Are you talking about a home garden or a monoculture over many acres?
Excessive fertilizer is probably never a good idea.
It's not necessary to have a cover crop but I find it very beneficial.
I have been growing vegetables on the same 1000 square foot (50 x 20) space for 17 years with few problems. I put compost and some organic fertilizer on each year, mulch heavily with leaves and hay and in the fall plant winter rye as a cover crop over the winter.
Hope this helps.

o

Another reason for fallow - or ordinary crop rotation - is to lower the disease and pest burden. When your turnip borers hatch and find a field of oats and no turnips, they starve.

Cover crop, if only to prevent erosion.

o

I'm hoping to rent an allotment when I move to Sweden and I was wondering if it is worth separating into four sections instead of three, leaving one fallow which will be included in the rotation. Would it still be helpful on such a small piece of land?

o

Could you define what 'fallow' means to you a bit?
The term means different things to different people-
I could start going on about what it means to *me* and not help you a bit!

o

Whatever is best for the soil. I really don't know the exact definition as I'm new to gardening.

o

what size piece of land are you talking about?

o

I don't know the size yet, I would imagine a rented allotment is about the size of a small garden.

o