Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fishman_rd

Where to Find Garden Soil

Fishman-RD
11 years ago

Hi. I am new to gardening and am building a raised garden this year. I would like to use good soil, preferably a clean organic-compost type. Are there lists of nurseries/farms, or places where certified good soil can be obtained ?

I live in Morris County, NJ

Comments (12)

• toxcrusadr
    11 years ago

Unless someone here is from your area, we will not be of much help. Places that you can look for vendors include Craigslist, other classified ads, nurseries and garden centers, etc. You can also ask local gardeners and gardening clubs.

Hopefully you can find someone who blends sifted topsoil with compost to make a nice mix for gardening, and will deliver a load to your driveway.

As far as 'certified', certified for what? Most small scale vendors of this type of product do not test their soil. If you are concerned about pesticides or weed seeds, I would ask them where they get their soil and compost, and go from there.

• Kimmsr
    11 years ago

There is no such thing as "certified good soil" and the term "topsoil" means nothing beyond that the soil is supposed to be the to 4 to 6 inches of soil from someplace.
    What you need to do is determine what the soil you want is to be. Most everyone probably would agree that Loam is the best soil and Loam consists of about 45 percent sand, 25 percent silt, 25 percent clay, and 5 percent organic matter. If I were to purchase some soil that mixture os what I would look for.

Here is a link that might be useful: About Soil

• Raw_Nature
    11 years ago