Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dragonjaze

Compost ok to plant in?

dragonjaze
13 years ago

I defined a garden area last fall, and tried to layer some mulch, newspaper and cardboard, with the intention of doing "lasagna gardening". But the garden area does NOT look promising after the winter. I would like to define the beds with some wood planks, and fill it in to make little raised beds.

I'm in the 'burbs, and don't have access to a vehicle for hauling, so I will have to order the material that will be filling these beds. Can I use "finished compost" to fill in the beds, or should I order topsoil?

This will be for vegetables, and this is my first garden ever. I'm completely new to this and lost. Also likely to kill everything I get my hands on, but that's another story :)

Help?

Comments (9)

• daguvanuh
    13 years ago

Little caution here on the term topsoil.. I run a dump-truck - hauling to different contractors.. I service 5 different landscape companies within my customer base.
    They each call for topsoil occasionally but they each want something different by the use of that term.
    As you buy this make real sure you and the person selling or filling your order are on the same mindset...
    The other part of your question.. Finished black compost is a good raised bed media. Carefull on planting tall stuff if the wind may move it around. Stake it and tie it for stability.

• Kimmsr
    13 years ago

"Topsoil" is simply the top 4 to 6 inches of soil from someplace, so it may well be something decent or it could be simply garbage. Most everyone has in mind that "topsoil" is loam, but since there is not enough loam available not all "topsoil" can be.
    Stick with compost to amend the soil you have or to fill a raised bed. Lasagna gardening plants in organic matter and I have used compost as potting soil with no problems for many years now, as have many others.

• Lloyd
    13 years ago