Return to the Soil Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
compost activator? help

Posted by greengreen 8 (My Page) on
Thu, Mar 3, 11 at 14:21

i moved into a house with an un-contained compost pile out back (yes, it is simply a big heap)
we have a small kitchen bin that we dump out there & fold into the mix. i'd say that's it's mostly kitchen scraps, (i think that's all we ever throw in) and i've heard our neighbors dump leaves & ash over the fence, atop the pile to help as well.
i think the heap has been "going" for about 1.5 years & was told
that some ripe humus was utilized from it last spring for planting.

okay, so i have no experience managing a compost pile & have been trying to drag out/throw away the new growth (onions of various kinds/monster root veggies, etc) as it seems perhaps we should have either completely destroyed the root-systems of things like, say green onions/leeks & chopped-up things like old beets/potatoes before composting them.
is this correct??

it doesn't seem like we should have things growing in the compost heap.
am i wrong?
so now i'm worried the compost isn't going to be "ready" to use because it's got so much un-decomposed matter in it. i went to a nursery and got some *E.B. Whites organic compost maker* with plans to fold some in & cover the pile with a tarp to get things cooking even more. (under approval of nursery worker- of course she didn't see our compost tho)

so now i'm thinking perhaps we don't need more nitrogen (which is what the activator/
compost maker add, i believe) but if anything, more carbon(?) and certainly more time.
i don't know if i should even use the "compost maker" or if that will push the nitrogen:carbon ratio further out of whack. (assuming we have more "green" than "brown")
think i will mix it up a bunch & put some soil on top for now.

i could go on & on. but may be i should wait for some feedback first.

any advice would be much appreciated.
thanks in advance!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: compost activator? help