Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jamie1s

Which composter for beginner?

Jamie
11 years ago

I can't put anything together myself, and I need to contain it as attractively as possible -- can't just have a pile.

I'm starting small. Which of these would be best?

wire - has a door so I can open the door to turn the pile
{{gwi:271146}}

plastic - is this better for generating heat and giving better results? Would I have to buy a tool to stir it?
{{gwi:271150}}

wood - could I just remove the slats from one side of this to get in and stir? I feel certain the convenient "remove from the bottom" arch would be pretty worthless. But it seems like it wouldn't blow or get knocked over, like the others might.
{{gwi:271153}}

Or, since I am a newbie and have a lot to learn and would like a little success to grow on, should I spend more and get an enclosed one (such as the Compost Wizard Dueling Tumblers) that I can roll to turn and will not attract pests? Maybe that would keep me from being stalled by failure? I'm just not sure how difficult it is, both chemically and in terms of physical strength and patience, to get compost out of one of the above more traditional holders?

Thanks for your advice. I realize, after reading the electric fence thread, that you might have to haze me. But please throw in some real info along with it.

This post was edited by jamies on Sun, Mar 17, 13 at 18:23

Comments (9)

• Kimmsr
    11 years ago

Plastic is no better at "generating" heat then anything else because any heat is generated by the activity of the bacteria that digest the material to be composted. Sometimes plastic composters do not allow enough air in and cause the material to hold too much moisture and the material enters anaerobic (in the absence of air) digestion which produces a very stinky mess.
    If a bin is needed 12 feet of wire fence works quite well.

• toxcrusadr
    11 years ago