Return to the Soil Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What would you say is a good price for bulk compost? (NYC)

Posted by ElPsyCongroo 6 (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 23, 14 at 16:32

Making compost is pretty hopeless for me. Tried it last year but as a student, I dont have my own car so it usually involves lots of heavy lifting. That means dragging vegetable trimming filled garbage bags all the way home. I dont generate enough scraps at home to build a large enough heap so asking around for trimmings is how I did it. Unfortunately all of that hard work was ruined when my unfinished compost was spread onto the garden. My parents dont understand that decomposition is much faster in large piles and continuously spread it everywhere no matter how many times I tell them. Even today, a lot of it hasn't decomposed. Buying compost is my best option but its expensive bagged and carrying all that home will take ages.

So im looking for place that will deliver bulk compost. How much would this typically cost? Anyone aware of places that will deliver here in NYC (Im in the Bronx)? Unfortunately the NYC compost giveback program no longer receives funding so the city has no compost for me. :( The worms seem to have fled and now I fear for my garden as its not a good sign when the worms dont like the soil.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What would you say is a good price for bulk compost? (NYC)

The cost of compost is pretty much transportation and labor. What does it cost to move the rough material from where it is generated to where it is processed, process that material, and then deliver it to you. Around here compost is selling for $20.00 per cubic yard plus a delivery charge to help cover the higher fuel costs.

o

Sorry, I can't provide any info about NYC, although I lived upstate for a while many years ago.