Return to the Soil Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Bermuda grass in compost

Posted by AZgardenNewbie 9 (My Page) on
Fri, Mar 28, 14 at 16:35

I am rather new to gardening and composting and need help. I have been composting for awhile and have two bins going quit well. Everything I initially read said to use grass clippings, which I have been. I live in Arizona, where bermuda grass is the main grass. We planted ryegrass this winter, so that has been going in as well. Anyway, I didn't know enough about bermuda grass and it has been added to my bins. The question I have is should I keep the compost as is, or start over?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Bermuda grass in compost

I think you can keep it as is, and just don't add more to the bins now that you have decided you prefer not to add that.

o

Be prepared to pull bermuda out of the beds. If it were mine, I'd seriously consider straining the compost (or semi-compost, whatever state it's in) and removing any Bermuda still intact. I might even consider using this first batch as a topdressing for the lawn, rather than take the risk of putting a bunch of Bermuda into my flower or veggie beds.

But that said, if you're willing to stay on top of weeding the Bermuda out of the beds, it's relatively easy to pull when it's young. I'd go to the extreme because I hate Bermuda that much. But your hatred may be different than mine. :-)

o

Turn the pile into hot compost. Add greens, browns, a bit of nitrogen fertilizer and turn every several days, then repeat. Turn, turn til nothing looks like plant material.

o