Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardengeek63

Green or Brown

Skyway Gardens
15 years ago

Hi everyone,

I'm new to composting and I'm getting ready to start a batch as soon as my composter arrives next week. I've been collecting the timothy hay that falls thru the rabbit cages and I don't know if the hay is considered a green or brown source. I've read that straw is considered brown but grass clippings are green so I'm thinking the hay is green even though it's no longer green in color. Just want to be sure before I start cooking... Can you help?

Thank you,

Annette

Comments (34)

• cowgirl2
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I would think that it's more a green than a brown. If you are using it as feed, then the greener the colour, the better as a feed it will be.

• digdirt2
    15 years ago

Yes, hay (unless it is ancient stuff) is a green.

Dave

• Kimmsr
    15 years ago

Hay is always a green. The high protein in that hay will be held for a very long time unless that hay is exposed to the weather long enough.

• Skyway Gardens
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Great, green it is! Thanks so much for your help.

Annette

• robertz6
    15 years ago

Cornell Composting has the most extensive site of 'greens' and 'browns' and their C:N ratios. There are some odd numbers out these on various sites. Just last month I saw a value of 9:1 for grass, which is normally listed as 19:1 or 20:1.

This number was on a composting site list, not a posting by an individual.

• robinreno
    15 years ago

I would like to know which category lawn thatch falls into. Cornell site list grass but I get tge impression they mean after mowing. I am looking to start my first batch in my compost tumbler and I am having a hard time coming up with the recipe. I am thinking:

1 bucket kitchen waste
    1 bucket UCG
    3 buckets thatch ??

Anyway, this is my first post in the forums. I have learned alot reading for the last few months.

Thanks

• robinreno