Return to the Soil Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Newb seeking approval.

Posted by NuGardnrInNc 7 WNC (My Page) on
Tue, Mar 8, 11 at 20:42

Hello all. I'm looking for some suggestions on my soil mix. I have done alot of reading on here and know there are many varied opinions and very extensive posts, but hopefully I wont get in over my head on this one. I'm new to gardening and have a new greenhouse too and I am going to grow everything in containers. I am planning on making an all purpose soil for tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers, onions, potatoes, carrots, sweet potatoes, a dwarf banana, a dwarf citrus, and whatever else I may get. I'm acually gonna use 5 gallon buckets with holes drilled for most of my containers as I have many. My idea for the mix was 3 parts pine bark(chopped with mower) to 1 part potting soil(or compost if it finishes by then)and maybe 1 part peat. I like to keep things simple and I live in the mountains and don't get out much to buy stuff (hence the reason to learn gardening) and these things are readily available at my local garden center(their selection is fairly small). Any other place is an hour away, or more. Thanks for any help

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Newb seeking approval.

I don't think that either pine bark or peat would contribute much to your mix. I would start with a good commercial potting soil until you've got the greenhouse routine down pat, then experiment if you like with soil amendments.

o

I can only add one suggestion KEEP A JOURNAL ... because the one thing you can count on, is that you will have some successes and some failures .... and the journal will help you to tell why for each.

Re: the soil mix for containers .... you might get some useful tips by lurking/asking at the container forum ... lots of experienced folks hang out there.
////////////
Also the greenhouse forum might have some hints
http://forums2.gardenweb.com/forums/strucs/
////////////////
GOOD LUCK ...