Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tatianahdz

Best soil for raised bed?

tatianahdz
16 years ago

Hi all! I'm new to gardening and to GardenWeb, so please forgive me if this is a stupid question, but what is the best type of filler for the raised bed vegetable garden I'm about to make? I am looking for the best type for the lowest price, if there is such a thing?

I keep reading that sandy loam is good for the types I will be growing - peppers, cucumbers, cantaloupes, tomatoes.

Also, where would be the most affordable place to get this? Should I have it delivered from a garden place, or is it best to get it bagged from Lowe's or WalMart?

Again, I'm sorry if this is a retarded question! Thanks for your help!!!

Comments (29)

• Kimmsr
    16 years ago

You cannot buy good soil, that must be made by you.
    What type of soil you currently have?
    How well does this soil drain?
    Putting a raised bed on soil that drains really well will present more problems for you than you want since that raised bed will drain even faster.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    16 years ago

If you need to import soil (and many do, despite frequent admonishments from this site that it is unnecessary), it will be far cheaper to do so in bulk than purchasing bagged goods. If you have bulk goods suppliers nearby, look for products labeled as 3-way (or sometimes 5-way) planting mixes - these generally will include some sort of compost as part of the mix as well as a good, loamy base.

If bagged products are your only alternative, make sure you get a planting mix rather than a potting mix. Potting mixes are typically formulated for containers and include products like perlite or vermiculite that are expensive additives and unnecessary for inground planting situations, including raised beds. Mixing bagged soil 70-30 with some sort of compost product (your own, municipal compost, well composted manures, etc.) should provide an immediate optimum growing medium for just about any plant.