Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eddiepwns

Fertilizers mean soil replacement?

eddiepwns
10 years ago

I'm kinda new to fertilizers and was wondering if you constantly use fertilizers on your soil does that mean you have to replace it next season? I read somewhere certain kinds can kill the natural organisms that live in the soil thus no new nutrients can be created unless you keep adding fertilizers but I learned from history farmers suffered from soil exhaustion due to over fertilizing. So educate me a little on what fertilizers are okay and most efficient in providing nutrients yet not ruining the soil and causing me to keep spending money.

Comments (14)

• klem1
    10 years ago

That is grossly exaggerated. While synthetic fetilizer interfers with natural soil activity,it certainly doesn't render it usless. Just start your organic program and all will soon be fine.
    And remember,I Heard and They Said are both bad about telling lies.

• Kimmsr
    10 years ago

Using "fertilizers" to the exclusion of organic matter can cause a soils life to go dormant, or leave, but does not necessarily require soil replacement. Soil is composed of the mineral portion, the sand, silt, and clay, that makes up the soil type you have and organic matter, the stuff the Soil Food Web lives on and converts into nutrients that feed the plants that are trying to grow in that soil.
    We know that using synthetic "fertilizers" without adding organic matter can change soils for the worse, changing the soils pH, causing compaction, requiring that larger doses of "fertilizer" be applied to get the same results, creating an unhealthy environment for the plants to grow in resulting in greater needs for insect pest and "weed" control.
    Soil exhaustion resulted from using up the organic matter in the soil and not replacing it, although the use of synthetic "fertilizers" contributed to that by masking, for a time, the lack of organic matter in the soil.

• lazy_gardens
    10 years ago