Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
richardson111508_gw

Soil problems HELP!

richardson111508
10 years ago

I'll start by saying that I am fairly new to gardening. About a month ago I tilled my new plot (incorporating 8-8-8 fertilizer) then planted onions, potatoes, lettuce kelp, and several other things. The only thing that has started to come up is the onions. I dug up one of my potatoes and it looked just like it did when I planted it. I called my local county extension office and asked them what type of fertilizer I should be using. The gentleman that I spoke with recommended that I do a soil sample, which I did. He guessed that I would be low on nitrogen, phosphorous and have a high ph. He was exactly right! My nitrogen and phosphorus didn't even register on the test kit and the PH registered as high as it could measure. I live in the Blackland Prairie region which is known for being an alkaline clay but the lack of nutrients such as nitrogen and phosphorus surprised me. There is a ton of agriculture in this area. Cotton and soy fields surround my neighborhood. I sprayed Miracle Gro Garden on my rows and also put out a little more 8-8-8 fertilizer and watered like crazy today. What else can I do that is a quick fix for my problem. I don't have any compost and I really don't relish the idea of re-tilling and starting over. I know I will certainly incorporate compost before next season, but am I out of luck for this year?

Comments (24)

• jean001a
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Nitrogen is always low. It washes through soils with water.

Add nitrogen fertilizer, according to label directions.

And how high is the pH? "As high as it will go" doesn't mean anything to us.

For now, spread some compost on the surface of the soil.

• ericwi
    10 years ago