Return to the Soil Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Is my compost ready?

Posted by bethardern z5OH (My Page) on
Tue, Apr 28, 09 at 9:10

I am new to composting. I built a pile in early Feb. I layered chopped leaves, cow manure, bedding straw, soil and lots of kitchen scraps. The pile got nice and hot during March but is now cold. The only material identifiable is the straw and an occaisional eggshell. Is this pile ready or do I just need to get the pile hot again? I'd really like to use it now but don't want to risk buring my new plants with the manure component. Thank you in advance for your advice.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Is my compost ready?

I would suggest turning it. If it heats up again then it wasn't done. If there are anaerobic stinky spots then turning it will expose those to oxygen.

I also suggest buying a compost thermometer at least 18 inches long. The thermometer will tell you what is happening in the core of the pile.

Nancy in western Oregon

o

When a compost pile is done:

You can't tell what the ingredients were
dark brown in color
slight earthy smell

I suspect that this being your first pile, the composting slowed down rather than was completed.

o

• Posted by pt03 3 Southern Manitoba (My Page) on
    Thu, Apr 30, 09 at 18:58

There are some rudimentary tests one can try. Not absolutely conclusive but a negative result tells a lot.

One such link;

Simple methods of evaluating compost quality and maturity

Lloyd

o

Thank you for your help. After the first response I turned the entire pile. In 2 days it was warm again, not steaming as before but at least warm. Thank you for the link. That was helpful. I really want to use my own compost for summer planting as I have had to use bagged for all the spring planting. Is ther any use in working partially composted materials into soil or had I just better wait?

o