Return to the Soil Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
DIY Bone meal

Posted by jmh8098 5 (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 25, 10 at 11:40

I am interested in processing the bone discards into bone meal from my kitchen as well as from wild game (deer, turkey, waterfoul) that I normally bury or throw in the trash. I have done a bit of research on the net and have found a thread or two on here pertaining to boiling or baking the bones to make them britle and then crushing them. What if one were to submerge them in vinegar to soften them till they were like rubber and then run them through a conventional grinder or blender? I'm just learning about the chemistrys involved here but I'm thinking that the vinegar would make the calcium more available. Although it would be acidic could you not nutrilize it to the PH you want with ashes or am I just way off here. It would be greatly beneficial to me if this would work as discarding of a deer carcass is a pain. It would be nice to do something usefull with it to make it more immediatley available to my plants in doing something like this without having to go though the hassles of boiling or baking. I can cut up the bones with a saw, throw them in a 5 gallon pail with vinegar and a few days later throw them in the grinder and then finish in the blender. Then go back to the bucket and mix in the ash till I get the ph I want. I want to hear your thoughts pleases

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: DIY Bone meal

I like your idea it would make for a good experiment
All my bones and carcasses deer, varmits, ect.. are hot composted which works very well for me I think the bones when fresh and uncooked are soft and break down rapidly in compost

o

Ewwwwww... :)

Had never thought of this... I mean, when a professional deer processor finishes, what does he do with all the carcasses? I smell a niche market!

Kim

o

Anyone care to weigh in on the chemistry of this expiriment?

o