Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rake4leaves

composting old clothes

Rake4Leaves
13 years ago

I have a pair of "holey" silk pants, that is beyond repair.

Has anyone toss in the compost pile any fabric, clothes

made of 100% cotton or silk? I'd cut off the manufacturer's label.

Color is a medium green, of unknown dye ingredients.

I thought that the pants could beplaced at the very bottom

of a new pile.

Thanks in advance.

Comments (11)

• docgipe
    13 years ago

Wool, silk and cotton will decompose....It was once living.

I work as a volunteer in a rescue mission part time. We see very few pure animal or plant fibre clothing articles today. We sort them out when we do to gain a few pennies more for the natural garments.

• Rake4Leaves
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thank you for your response. Good to know that I can toss these
    pants into the c. pile instead of the landfill. Too bad they have
    holes in 'em, now they fit, thanks to losing weight. Oh, well.

• west_texas_peg
    13 years ago

I composted a pair of shorts recently that were 80% cotton and 20% polyester...when I found them after a year the cotton had been consumed and just the polyester was left...see thru shorts. LOL I compost t-shirts, old towels, washcloths, etc.

Peggy

• mrcactus747
    8 years ago

I would like to know if I can dig up a hole up to 3 feet, then fill it with some water, mix it with some of the returning dirt then put whole t shirt or something in there, will earthworm come out and eat them or what ?

• annpat
    8 years ago

I use cottons and wools as mulch, covered with a compost or leaf mulch.

• toxcrusadr
    8 years ago