Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mark_iacopetti

Trying to make Loam-like soil

Mark_Iacopetti
11 years ago

Hello, I am new to gardening and I'm trying to grow a multitude of vegetables and fruits this year.

Two in particular are Watermelon and Cantaloupe. I have looked all over the internet for the best soil to grow the melons in and all sites say that "Loamy" soil is the best.

Now i know that loam is a mix of clay silt and sand, but I was just wondering if i just added sand to my topsoil i lay down would this do the trick?

And if it wouldn't where could i go about getting clay or silt? and how much would i add of everything?

Sooo many questions but I'm new to this and Haven't been able to find a good answer yet. Any help will be appreciated.

Thank you,

Comments (22)

• jean001a
    11 years ago

No clay or sand! Instead, the Silver Bullet is compost. Lots and lots of compost, at least two inches each growing season.

• hortster
    11 years ago

In the garden I have added a 3" or greater layer of compost (to my heavy clay) every other year for a long time. I can now grab a handful and it crumbles through my fingers.
    Adding sand to heavier soil just turns it into adobe, so your watermelon and cantaloupe would have to grow out of a brick. Go with jean001a's recommendation!
    hortster

• Laurel Zito
    11 years ago