Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nick_et

2nd property soil test results

nick-et
9 years ago

Hi,

Here are my soil test results for the second property where I seeded Bermuda instead of St. Augustine Sod. I want to see what all I need to do in this lawn since I haven't done anything since my parents bought it and its the worse lawn in the neighborhood. There no grass growing and a lot of moss has started to grow around trees. This lawn is around 3200 sq ft.

Comments (19)

• johns.coastal.patio
    9 years ago

Hi nick. I'm not an expert at all, but if it was me I'd just look at the "level" columns. Things that are "VL" (very low) or "L" (low) need addressing. You could just follow their recommendations to the letter, or you could ask your nursery for cheapest, most organic, etc. ways to achieve the same thing.

Generally though these soils look "low" in primary nutrients.

• toxcrusadr
    9 years ago

I don't have anything to add to what's already on those recommendations. pH is low, Ca is low, so limestone is the right remedy. N and K are low, but not P, so the recommendations for fertilizers with no P sound good.

One thing though, you didn't get an organic matter test. If the soil is not rich and black already, it could benefit from compost. If you're going to till it up and plant a lawn, add 1-2" compost along with the other amendments and till it all in. If you aren't tilling you can still add compost as a top dressing.

• Kimmsr
    9 years ago

Soil pH is very low for most all plants, 5.5 instead of the optimal 6.2 to 6.8 pH most all plants like for growing. Your county extension agent should have put on that report how much, and which type, of lime you need to add.

Missing here too is organic matter. Phosphorus (P) is high while Potash (K) is very low and micro nutrients are listed as high. Organic matter often will help even those numbers.

• toxcrusadr
    9 years ago