Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jewlz2121

Can someone recommend an enclosed compost bin?

jewlz2121
10 years ago

I am looking for a compost bin that is plastic and enclosed. This is my first time composting, so it also needs to be something easy to use and something I don't have to do much too. I'm not overly concerned with it being fast. It needs to have a bottom, or be able for me to add a wire bottom. My neighborhood has squirrels, rabbits, cats, deer, all of which appear to be on steroids and have eaten the sides of peoples home to get what they want. My other half refuses to have an open pile in the yard. Help me pick please?

Comments (6)

• robertz6
    10 years ago

Even with your concerns about animals, you might not find a enclosed system any better than a open-type system.

I have large mesh bins made of 1/4 and 1/2 inch hardware cloth. Even though I occasionally put smelly fish into the center core, no problems with my dog or other animal have occurred. But I put the stuff in the core only when the core temp is 130F or higher. Once in the winter I found a family of mice inside the pile.

Problems develop when people do not understand the composting process. For example, smells can occur in either a open or closed system.

Suggest to your husband he design a secure 4 foot square or round system. Maybe two to three feet high. That way you can compost either cold or hot if you wish.

• poaky1
    10 years ago

I know you said plastic, but, The Compost Tumbler, it's metal, it is pricey, about $400.00 or a bit more, is animal-proof. I have 2. If you have a Farm Supply store near you they may have a plastic rotating barrel composter. I would try Craigslist for used Compost Tumblers in your area. As I mentioned, I have 2 Compost Tumblers. Some Peeps don't like them but I like mine. I think animals would find it hard to get inside the barrels.

• gcolo
    10 years ago