Return to the Soil Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
OMRI Clarification - Gardner and Bloome

Posted by hops_on_pop none (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 16, 14 at 19:53

Been looking for an organic potting soil and was recommended G&B Organic Potting Soil and Blue Ribbon Potting Soil by local hardware store.

I looked them up on OMRI and saw all Gardner and Bloome products are listed as Iron Products and saw this caveat:

May be used as a plant or soil amendment only with a documented iron deficiency.

I'm very new to vegetable gardening and was unsure what ingredient would cause that listing:

Potting Soil:
All organic ingredients of fir bark, forest humus, peat moss, perlite, chicken manure, worm castings, bat guano, kelp meal, alfalfa meal, with oyster shell and dolomite lime for pH adjusters.

Blue Ribbon Mix:
A composted blend of Canadian sphagnum peat moss, screened fir bark fines, forest humus, pumice, chicken manure, worm castings, bat guano, kelp meal & alfalfa meal.

I've seen a few threads on here with others that have successfully used their products and are happy with them but I want to know exactly what's going into my mix.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: OMRI Clarification - Gardner and Bloome

It probably has added non-organic iron in the mix...such as ferric oxide or ferric sulfate. It's a legally allowed use of a restricted substance.

One reason I advise most people who want to be organic to form their own opinions/methods on what matters to them and what limits whey want to enforce rather than going by "certified" status is because of stuff like this.

Here we go...

Okay, adding something like this to a soil, potting mix, disease/weed/pest control, or fertilizer can be approved if the product can be proven it's deficient in it and the people producing it pay for each product they want certified to be tested.