Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shawnruiz86

why is my compost not turning black

shawnruiz86
9 years ago

I have been composting for a couple of years now and my compost never looks like black gold that every ones talking about. So if any one has a comment as to why it's not turning black please send my one.

Comments (10)

• ericwi
    9 years ago

The color of compost will vary according to the raw materials used to build the pile. In past years, we have made compost that was 80% shredded maple tree leaves. It was great compost, but it was always brown, not black. If you add enough horse manure to the pile, you will surely end up with black compost. Most soils will benefit from being amended with compost. If your local soil is already high in humus and/or organic material, then adding compost might not be a good idea. Here in Madison, our local soil can be described as sticky clay, and it is much improved with compost tilled in.

• Kimmsr
    9 years ago

Compost is always brown, varying from dark brown to deep dark brown that almost looks black. The types of materials can be a factor in the color as can the amount of moisture in the mix.

• lazy_gardens
    9 years ago

It depends on your starting material ... if I have mostly mesquite chippings and leaves, it's medium brown.

Coffee grounds, cat litter and kitchen scraps = dark brown

• shawnruiz86
    Original Author
    9 years ago

what if my pile is done cooking but not fully broken down,
    it looks good when wet but when it dries out it looks like dry
    tabacoo.

• lazy_gardens
    9 years ago

Some materials will end up a different color than others. Don't worry about it.

• Kimmsr
    9 years ago

If your compost is "done cooking" but not fully "broken down" that means that there was not enough Nitrogen, or moisture, or perhaps those particles were too large, in the mix. Perhaps remixing and adding some moisture and a source of N might help the bacteria digest more.