Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
briejean

How to mulch...Do I remove old mulch first???

briejean
14 years ago

I'm kind of new at this. We had someone come and do our landscaping last year. This year, we decided to take care of the yard ourselves. Do we remove last year's mulch first before putting out new mulch, or do we just put it right on top?? We have one area that has weed fabric under the mulch and all the other areas the mulch is just on top of the dirt. Thanks!!

Comments (20)

• joepyeweed
    14 years ago

I pile new mulch on top of old mulch.

• greenwood85
    14 years ago

Same here. The old mulch will break down and add organic matter to your soil.

I pick up the old mulch that other people throw out. I got a truckload today. :)

• Kimmsr
    14 years ago

There is no real good reason to remove last years mulch to put new down, just spread the new mulch over the old. Some people will tell you that you need to because that old mulch may have some disease, something I have not seen.
    An article in a recent issue of Organic Gardening magazine states that the research people at Texas A & M found that the "weed" blocker fabric can keep nutrients placed on top of the "weed" blocker fabric from getting into your soil.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    14 years ago

The only reason to remove old mulch is if it hasn't been able to decompose properly. Sometimes, and I have seen this with all kinds of organic materials, fungal mycelium and hyphae will form a slick mat above the soil surface, impeding the healthy interaction between the soil SYSTEM and the mulch/atmosphere.

Using too much mulch is often the cause, or using a material that tends to lay down in a dense mat.

Stir up the old mulch a bit to make sure that this isn't happening but then you can reapply material in order to achieve a depth of 2 to 4 inches.

By the way, it would be worth your time to get rid of the weed fabric.

• briejean
    Original Author
    14 years ago