Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sequoia_stiffy

compost - to pee or not to pee

sequoia_stiffy
16 years ago

PUNK ROCK GARDENING.

EVERYBODY PEES ON THE COMPOST. What is the effect of direct human urination on a compost pile of grass clippings? Yay or Nay? Please leave any comments regarding the grossness/socially uncouth notions of this situation aside.

Thank You.

Comments (117)

• petalpatsy
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

paulns, I'm not a soil scientist, or really much of a scientist at all. I'm an MD anesthesiologist, disabled for the last five years from a spinal cord injury. But, since I was a child genius and went to med school as a mere baby, the organic chemistry we brushed over is still pretty fresh. I was 45 last year, and this year I plan to be 44. I think I have that figured correctly.....

Seriously, 1/2 teaspoon in a gallon doesn't sound like that much to me, since I would put that much into one batch of compost that was spread over 100 sq. ft. I don't really know how much salt is a lot of salt for the soil. Good luck with the seawater/asparagus plan!

• curtludwig
    15 years ago

My heavens, what a thread!

Back in the day I worked summers at a Boy Scout camp. We counselers would pee right by our cabins all the time rather than hike to the latrine, especially in the wee (HA!) hours.

During the summer you could watch the foliage get burnt from the urine. I don't think it was salt causing the burn I think it was the nitrogen levels, maybe ammonia? Heck what do I know?
    Anyway the following summer the foliage would be back growing taller than ever.

The moral of the story is not to put your pee on just a couple plants or to dilute it well with water. Dilution helps keep the smell down too. I remember one summer there was a drought and we all agreed to pee in the latrines phew!

• paulns
    15 years ago