Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
saldana_gw

Clay clay go away!

Saldana
9 years ago

I live in NJ and on clay soil! I have been plug aerating for the last 2 years and I can see "some" improvement but I am now getting a lot of moss and bald spots are getting bigger. I am desperate! I just bought a tiller and plan on digging up these problem spots and amend the soil with grass clippings and shredded leaves that I've been composting for the last 3-4 years now. Can anyone tell me what else can I do to improve my soil for grass? I did scrape up moss and dumped it in my backyard. When I checked the pile last year, it was dark and looked rich but had also turned into an ant hill! Is this stuff good to incorporate with my clay soil?

Comments (14)

• Kimmsr
    9 years ago

Aerating clay soils is a short term solution to the problem. What that clay needs is organic matter, and once there is adequate amounts of organic matter in that clay there will be no need to aerate.
    Moss is a first stage plant that Ma Nature grows where organic matter is insufficient to grow other plants in an effort to increase the amount of OM in the soil. I have had moss grown on my sand until I incorporated adequate amounts of OM into that sand.
    Contact your local office of your Rutgers Cooperative Extension Service and inquire about a soil test so you will know something about the soils pH, nutrient levels, and percent of organic matter.

Here is a link that might be useful: Rutgers CES

• mad_gallica (z5 Eastern NY)
    9 years ago

If you had been leaving the grass clippings on the lawn for the past 3 to 4 years, you would have seen a lot more improvement. That is by far the easiest way to add organic matter to a lawn.

Start by mowing high and leaving the clippings. Don't till because that will just make a mess. Overseeding with white clover will help because it can do a better job of rooting in the clay.

The idea is to work smarter, not harder.

• idaho_gardener
    9 years ago