Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sooby77

Raised Bed: What to put at the bottom?

sooby77
14 years ago

Hi everyone,

I'm a novice gardener and am working on a raised bed this year (4'x8'x12"). I've been reading a lot on this forum and on the Internet and am getting information overload. My question is, what do I put at the very bottom of my bed? My plan at the moment is to dig up the grass (mostly weed!) and turn them over before putting something down. Some people recommend landscape fabric, some newspaper, and some cardboard.

I've started collecting cardboards from Costco here and wasn't sure if I am doing the right thing. My primary goal is to minimize weed. I know it's not possible to have weed free bed. Would it be overkill to lay a landscape fabric before putting down cardboard?

In my previous year, I planted tomatoes, semi successfully on the ground here, but it was a major pain to weed when mosquitoes are in full force. I plan to plant tomatoes, peppers, and herbs on this raised bed. Thanks for your advice.

PS: I'm in Raleigh, NC.

Comments (28)

• randy_coyote
    14 years ago

Sooby, I'm in the cardboard camp (you know the one under the bridge by the railroad tracks). Seriously, I put cardboard or newspaper at the bottoms of all my raised beds and CPs. Weed minimization was the initial goal, but as I learned more about composting I realized it was good for the worms too. I don't know much, but I know worms are good for gardens. There's my two cents. Good Luck.

• annpat
    14 years ago

If you put the newspaper (or cardboard) on the top of your bed, instead of the bottom, you can have a weed-free garden, and you will have the added benefit, that mulches provide, of retaining moisture in your soil.

• sooby77
    Original Author
    14 years ago

anpat, are you saying put cardboard around the plants in my raised bed? randy_coyote, thanks for your input.

• mustard_seeds
    14 years ago