Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
indiana_veggies

found a horse manure source

indiana_veggies
14 years ago

Hi everyone. I'm fairly new to gardening (other than a few tomato plants every year), and very new to composting. I live in a suburban neighborhood and have a little less than a half acre of yard. So far we've been composting using kitchen scraps, some leaves, shredded paper & cardboard, weeds, dead headed flowers, etc. I have two compost "bins" - a pile surrounded by chicken wire that is about 4 feet in diameter (I add to this pile) and a compost tumbler (where I finish off the stuff started in the chicken wire pile). It's a fairly small set up, and I have a fairly small garden.

I'm planning to use what's in the tumbler when I plant some perennials this fall, moving what's in the chicken wire to the tumbler for the winter, and using it for spring vegetable planting.

I just realized I have two friends with horses who will give me as much manure as I want. One horse is kept in someone's yard and the other in a professional stable.

My yard doesn't produce a huge amount of fall leaves - maybe 3 bags. My mom lives a mile away and her yard produces maybe 15 or 20 bags of fall leaves.

Question 1: my fiend is giving me a container of manure today - I think it will be fresh. What do I do with it now? I am planning to put it in my working chicken wire pile, which is only about 18 inches high right now, and mostly an even amount of grass clippings and leaves/shredded paper. If I add the manure and an equal amount of shredded cardboard and paper and stir it up, does that sound OK? It will sit in its pile all summer getting added to, then moved to the tumbler for the winter, and used in a veggie garden in spring.