Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mary_parsons3820

how about oak leaves ...

ynot
9 years ago

I received outstanding help in response to a recent post so I'm back for more. This time I have questions about a new compost pile I began one week ago. Equal amounts of shredded leaves and freshly cut grass were mixed in a wire bin (diameter = 36"). I had fewer leaves than usual_ that's a different story_ so the mix was only 3' high. It is now about 30" but is still mildly hot in the center. What should signify the best time to turn it? And how frequently should it be turned thereafter?
From this point on, I thought I'd only have kitchen scraps to add to the bin. But I do have oak leaves from last fall that I could shred and add. I've never used oak leaves before; I read that there is controversy regarding the use of these leaves in making compost. What's everyone's opinion?
Other than the oak leaves and vegetable peelings, etc. from the kitchen and, of course, cut grass, I can't think of anything else I'll have in quantity to add.
As always, I'll be most appreciative of your guidance in these matters.

Comments (9)

• cold_weather_is_evil
    9 years ago

When do you want the compost? if you're piling up for next year, don't bother with any of that; just pile on "anything that's ever grown". Then the bin becomes a quiet little container back in the corner rather than a hot composter.

This is, of course, the lazy method much preferred in this neck of the Sahara. The longer the time scale one has to play with, the easier it all is. However, that's easy to say when there have been a few years to work on it.

• toxcrusadr
    9 years ago

Even when I had a triple bin and was making compost like crazy, I only turned my batches twice. In about 6 months I had compost.

You can turn when it starts to cool off, and really as many times as you want, but a lot of turning is not really necessary if you have time for nature to work.