Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sahira_gw

Do dried greens become browns, and other newbie questions

sahira
17 years ago

I'm sure this has been covered here before, so I apologize for asking, but I couldn't find it in the FAQs or search. This is my first time composting. I'm wondering if my grass clippings ("greens") become "browns" if they stay on the lawn long enough to dry out and turn, well, brown?

Also, while I know that the C:N ratio we're aiming for is about 30:1, I have read Brown:Green ratios ranging from 4:1 to 1:1 in order to achieve that C:N ratio. In your experience, what works best? (Currently I am running about 3:1 or 4:1.)

Oh, and I am using a composting bin (Pyramid Composter), which seems to make it hard to turn the pile, at least with the garden rake I have been trying to use. Would a pitchfork or something work better? I really don't want to dump the whole thing over in order to turn it, or spend the money to buy one of those special compost-turning tools.

I am composting kitchen scraps and lawn clippings, I have already used up the few dried leaves that I had in my yard.

Thanks so much for your time.

Comments (4)

• bpgreen
    17 years ago

I don't use any formula to get the right combination of browns and greens. What I do is add stuff as I have it and mix it up. If it's not heating up, it needs more greens, it needs to be turned or it needs more water. If it stinks, it needs more browns and probably needs to be turned. In VA, it may also stink if it gets too wet (never a problem for me).

I don't know what your composter is like, but if it has a door near the bottom, you can take a shovelful from the bottom and put it on top every once in a while to help mix it.