Return to the Soil Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My turkey compost smells gross (part 2)

Posted by pt03 2b Southern Manitob (My Page) on
Mon, May 7, 12 at 14:21

Post all new comments to this thread. No one will get any e-mails

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My turkey compost smells gross (part 2)

• Posted by pt03 2b Southern Manitob (My Page) on
    Mon, May 7, 12 at 16:20

Bump so this doesn't stay on the top.

o

Since we've got a new venue, I'll just say I didn't think 'turkey compost' implied anything other than turkey poop. The question was a distraction anyway, since the original problem was the smell and what that meant. And the answer to *that* is universal, regardless of what kind of compost is stinking.

Funny story: I worked in a lab doing environmental fate studies on things like animal antibiotics. For one such study we had to spike the test compound onto turkey manure, incubate and determine how it decomposed. The client sent us a 5-gal bucket of turkey poop. It had to be dried for some reason prior to use (don't remember the details). So the lab techs took it to the OTHER building, up in the attic, and spread it out in pans to dry. Within an hour, it had fumigated the entire building with turkey poop stench and the phone was ringing! I coulda told em that...

o

I don't under why that woman was so hostile, clearly she doesn't understand how to make an email filter. For example she could make an filter that would filter out the word "turkey" or the word "compost" or the word "gross" from the subject line and sent it too the trash. I am guessing that she is not too bright.

o

Mon, May 7, 12 at 21:50

That is one of the funniest comments I've read....literally, I'm crying I'm laughing so hard.

Lloyd

o

Lloyd; Tears in my eyes too! Bwaaaahaha.

Curt

o

it's a classic

o

Yeah, I have never seen people called @$$holes in a gardening forum, LOL.