Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paulsiu

If I compost, do I need to add hardwood mulch?

paulsiu
12 years ago

I recently added a layer of brush compost on top of my flower bed and bushes. My next plan was to add a layer of hardwood mulch on top. I am a novice and have been told that hardwood mulch should be added to retain moisture and that the decomposing wood would add nutrient to the plants.

My wife however wants really black color mulch. The only mulch I can find that fits this description is this stuff call Black Satin Mulch and Scotts Natural Scape black. I am guessing that both are dyed.

The compost actually looks pretty black already, so I wonder if I can just skip the the mulching part? Is the compost enough for "moisture" retention. Keep in mind I have both bushes and flowers.

Paul

Comments (9)

• darth_weeder
    12 years ago

It'll help , it all depends on how thick it is

• newbiehavinfun
    12 years ago

There are many views about mulch, as I'm finding out. Compost works as a mulch on its own and many people say its the best mulch. Researchers at Iowa and Ohio State Universities found that 2 inches of compost prevents weed just as well as 2 inches of hardwood. Compost would add much more nutrients to the soil than the hardwood mulch, which actually reduces nitrogen at the soil level (just how much it reduces nitrogen is in debate, but the general consensus is that it would hurt perennials more than trees or shrubs).

Here is a link that might be useful: Ten Commandments of Mulch

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    12 years ago

The only advantage to adding a wood mulch over compost is to further suppress weed development. Compost tends to be a rather fertile seed bed and while a good layer of compost will suppress any underlying weed seeds, it simply provides a a very hospitable habitat for germinating windblown seeds. The good news is they are usually extremely easy to weed out as compost is generally quite loose and fluffy.