Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mikta

need source of browns

mikta
16 years ago

I have a LOT of greens (I compost all my kitchen scraps and horse and rabbit manure, plus kitchen scraps and grass clippings from my neighbors) but hardly any browns, so I'd appreciate if I could hear where you all get your browns from. So far the browns I use are all from my own home (paper towels, cardboard, newspaper, and leaves) and it's just not enough to match the greens. If anyone has any ideas for more browns from around the house or from another free source I'd love to hear about them.

Thanks in advance,

Mikta

Comments (10)

• gbig2
    16 years ago

I have the same problem. New house, no mature trees therefore no leaves, etc. I've been bringing home the used paper towels from the bathrooms at work.
    You do want a brown to green ratio of 30 to one I believe, although I'm no expert...
    Maybe paper scrap from junk mail, etc.?

• iowa50126
    16 years ago

I'm always short of browns in the summer too.

I also use paper from around the house. I shred mail and paste board boxes. I cut up news paper. I have a separate kitchen waste can for paper towels and paper plates from the microwave.

My pile is frozen Dec to March so, I bag this stuff all winter and then use it in the pile as the greens go in.

• bpgreen
    16 years ago

"I've been bringing home the used paper towels from the bathrooms at work. "

I'm not sure that's such a good idea. Those towels could have all sorts of bad things on them. You'd be better off getting the shredded paper from work. Or if they don't shred, just take the discarded reports and shred them yourself.

• gbig2
    16 years ago

Yea, I was a little concerned about the used paper towels at first. But they are only used to dry wet hands off, and even if someone is blowing their nose into them, does it matter? I mean it's only going in the compost bin to break down. Plus they are pure %100 recycled paper towels, no bleach, chemicals etc.