Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
coupongeorge

Silt Soil?

coupongeorge
9 years ago

Ok, we just bought a couple acres of land and I found out it use to be a silt pond a couple years ago but it was filled in. I've noticed the ground has a lot of big rocks and its hard to dig or plant anything. What would be the best route to go to make the ground easier to work? Plus how do you start composting? I've never gardened or anything so I'm completely new to it, so use small words lol.

Comments (7)

• Kimmsr
    9 years ago

Composting is quite simple. Gather material, pile material up, wait. The linked tutorial will take you much deeper into the subject.
    Start by assessing what you have by having a good reliable soil test for soil pH, and major nutrient levels. Your University of Kentucky Cooperative Extension Service will do that.
    Then these simple soil tests can help you know more about the soil that is there,
    1) Soil test for organic matter. From that soil sample put enough of the rest to make a 4 inch level in a clear 1 quart jar, with a tight fitting lid. Fill that jar with water and replace the lid, tightly. Shake the jar vigorously and then let it stand for 24 hours. Your soil will settle out according to soil particle size and weight. For example, a good loam will have about 1-3/4 inch (about 45%) of sand on the bottom. about 1 inch (about 25%) of silt next, about 1 inch (25%) of clay above that, and about 1/4 inch (about 5%) of organic matter on the top.

2) Drainage. Dig a hole 1 foot square and 1 foot deep and fill that with water. After that water drains away refill the hole with more water and time how long it takes that to drain away. Anything less than 2 hours and your soil drainsâ too quickly and needs more organic matter to slow that drainage down. Anything over 6 hours and the soil drains too slowly and needs lots of organic matter to speed it up.