Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
morgang_gw

Walmart Expert Gardener Garden Soil -- help please.

morgang
16 years ago

I just came home with 6 bags of this stuff, expecting actual soil (like it says on the bag. I dumped a bag into two planter boxes and it looks like nothing but a combination of shredded cedar mulch and cow manure -- and it SMELLS like FRESH manure and it's wet and brown, like fresh stuff. Surely this isn't going to be good to plant in, is it? Is it even healthy to handle? Ick. I'm new at this. I feel like taking the 5 bags back to the store -- or is this what it's supposed to look like? I was expecting it to look like the Miracle Grow dirt, except being a "store brand."

As for the bag I've opened, I don't want to scoop it up and tote it back to the store in my car. Will it work to work it into the soil in my garden and let it decompose? Or start a compost pile with it and grass clippings and dried leaves? It looks NOTHING like soil. Maybe I'll take a baggie full (sealed!) to the store and let them sniff it...

Comments (26)

• julianna_il
    16 years ago

Hmmm, it sounds like moisture got into the bag and soured the soil. Or maybe they just package up whatever they've got on hand.

A couple of years ago I bought a bag of super cheap potting soil from Big Lots and it was the most horrific stuff ever. It was like they went to a clay pit, dug clay and added black dye. Awful stuff.

Since then, I only buy brand name potting soil.

This stuff you bought would probably be fine for adding to topsoil, but not so good for planters. You could do the things you mentioned with it (compost, work it into your garden) or take the unopened bags back. I agree not wanting to gather up the opened stuff...I'd take the empty bag and tell them if they want it they can come dig it up themselves because it's nasty stuff.