Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nutsaboutflowers

Why do You Screen Your Compost??

nutsaboutflowers
13 years ago

I've noticed some people on this forum mention screening their compost.

I'm curious as to why ??

Comments (35)

• randy_coyote
    13 years ago

I screen mine to keep anything identifiable out of the garden or planter (sticks, apple cores, broccoli stems, etc.), to break up large clumps of compost, and because I like the feel of freshly screened, fluffy compost in my hands, and the smell, and I just like playing in it, and screening gives me an excuse to play in my "sandbox".

• dchall_san_antonio
    13 years ago

The big stuff has not finished composting yet. Screen it out and use the best part of the compost now. Then toss the screened stuff back into the pile for next year.

• lazy_gardens
    13 years ago

To make sure the bones of my enemies are not identifiable by the forensics lab.

• borderbarb
    13 years ago

Ditto the above ... plus I'm still learning what works and what doesn't, so I'm not REALLY playing, I am ACTUALLY analyzing and learning. That's my story and I'll stick to it, appearances notwithstanding.

• Lloyd
    13 years ago
  • sheaviance1
    13 years ago

I sifted mine for the first time ever this past weekend because I had some finished compost in there and I broke it out of its wire prison and freed it's dark and crumbly soul. It is now free and fluffy and doing it's own thing.

Actually, I have never actually had finished compost before as I just started this wonderful journey (in earnest) this year. Prior attempts were half-hearted. I had a ton of brown materials still in the pile that were not finished, but quite a bit that was, and I have been way too impatient to wait any longer, so I sifted, added more greens to the pile and it is once again cooking away. I also enjoy filling the empty void left by grown children and passed away parents with something that I definitely love to do.

• GawdinFever
    13 years ago