Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bigoledude

Will fertilizer kill microbes?

bigoledude
9 years ago

I've been gardening for many years. Organic gardening just seemed to be too much effort and, I was never very impressed with the gardens of the very few folks around me who tried it.

My income is now fixed and low! Spending less is now more attractive. I always made my own compost. Was/am I killing the beneficial microbes with the 20-20-20 or, the "tea" I made by soaking a knee-high full of 13-13-13 in a bucket of water?

I have a nearly endless source of fish guts/bones/heads. Horse-stable gleanings are free to me. My plan is to make a good bit of bio-char for the soil.

I've read tons of material on the web concerning organic methods. It seems that I can benefit from many of the methods. Especially liked the methods espoused by Gil Caradang over at "The Unconventional Farmer". He addresses pest/pathogen issues better than anyone else I've read YET. That is a MAJOR factor here in this primordial cauldron here in SE Louisiana.

Anyway, would an occasional small dose of fertilizer kill the beneficial microbes in my soil? Has anyone else here tried the methods of Gil Caradang?

Comments (7)

• nil13
    9 years ago

The dose makes the poison. Small amounts of fertilizer are food for microbes. Large amounts are harmful.

If you have been using a balanced fertilizer for a while, you ought to have your soil tested. You may very well have too much phosphorus.

• Kimmsr
    9 years ago

Synthetic fertilizers could do harm to the soil microbes, depending on how much organic matter is in that soil. The soil microbes live on organic matter and if there is little they will either go dormant, until the amount of OM in the soil is enough to support them, or the acids that synthetic fertilizers make might kill them.
    I have not, until now, heard of Gil Caradang and what
    I have seen indicates to me that he is following more of a bio dynamic type of gardening.

• lazy_gardens