Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
schifferle

Expanded Shale

schifferle
14 years ago

I first heard about this in a rose gardening class. It came highly recommended by the instructor, but is expensive w/ limited availability. It's supposed to, with other amendments such as compost, help those of us dealing with clay soil. Has anyone used it and has it been a worthwhile purchase?

Comments (10)

• locteach
    14 years ago

I was able to buy this for $7 or $8.00 a big bag and it was worth every dollar. It fixed my "too wet" soil in my containers and it also fixed the clay in a patch where I started a garden.
    Check another store or supplier. It really should not be that expensive. The first store I saw it at sold it for $22.00 a bag not more than a mile away I found it for 7 or 8. It was a local hardware store as opposed to a garden center.

The smaller the shale the better for the containers. I don't think it really matters for the clay in my opinion but I am not an expert just an expanded shale fan.

L.C.

• Kimmsr
    14 years ago

Your clay soil is composed of very fine mineral bits and shale is composed of not so fine mineral bits so what is really accomplished by adding more mineral stuff the the mineral stuff you already have?
    What your soil really needs, and all it needs, is organic matter which even in Kansas a lot of OM is available for free, at no cost, so why spend money for something your soil really does not need?

• sylviatexas1
    14 years ago

I don't know why it does what it does, but people who have used it absolutely rave about it.

A woman in my neighborhood who has *gorgeous* plants & gardens swears by it, puts it in all her containers, says it helps her container roses stay healthy & bloom like crazy.

• Kimmsr
    14 years ago