Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joanie_pomseed

Ants in my pile!

joanie_pomseed
13 years ago

My compost pile is infested with ants!

It looks like one of the wild animals (probably the raccoon) dug some of the fruit peels out, and they attracted ants, which I now find everywhere I stick the shovel.

What should I do?

Comments (10)

• kentstar
    13 years ago

I am a newbie composter, so bear that in mind, but what I would do is just make sure you have a "hot" pile to get rid of them. Is your pile a hot one or do you cold compost? If you get it up high enough I would think that it would drive out any ants. Also, make sure to bury any food scraps very well, like in the middle of the pile if possible to at least make it harder for the animals to get to. Do you use a cover? What kind of composter do you have?
    Others with more experience will probably chime in soon.

I have one of those wire bins (well two and one I will order later on), and they have a wire cover so no animals can get to the pile. Of course that won't stop ants, but I haven't YET lol experienced that one! :)

Cathy

• lcpw_gw
    13 years ago

If you're seeing ants everywhere in the pile, it's not just because the fruit peels attracted them. If they're everywhere you stick your shovel, they're living in there, not just coming to nab some food to take home.

The solution is to wet your pile a bit more. Ants don't like to live where it is too damp, so moistening the pile more will make them decide to move on.

(I'm assuming these aren't those fire ants I see folks talk about! Around here I only see the little black ones we call "sugar ants" and the big ones we call "carpenter ants". It's possible your ants are different from mine, but here, for me, wetting the pile works!)

Lisa

• lisascenic Urban Gardener, Oakland CA
    13 years ago

I just ignore the ants. If they're in my compost pile, it means that they're not in my kitchen.

• Kimmsr
    13 years ago