Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
imeldanie

Soil safe for vegetable garden?

imeldanie
9 years ago

Hello everyone! I am a beginner gardener and am trying to keep it organic. I have some raised beds that I filled with 'clean' soil but I have the gardening bug and I want to plant more all over the yard.

In an attempt to improve some native soil, I have planted some legumes. I tilled the original soil with some organic compost and mulched over it.

I have some beans beginning to pop up and I was wondering if they are safe to eat.

What is everyone's opinion on this? I have lived in this home for a couple years and have never used poisons, but I know that toxins can exist in the soil for a long time.

Thanks!

Comments (20)

• lazy_gardens
    9 years ago

What reason do you have to suspect "toxins"?

And what "toxins" do you think might be lurking there?

• imeldanie
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I do not have any reason really. I am a weird person who worries a lot? Like maybe the person who used to live here used poisons or pesticides that could be dangerous.

I really do not know much about gardening. So you think I have nothing to be concerned about then?

Thanks!

• lazy_gardens
    9 years ago

Unless you have plants that glow in the dark, or are living on a "superfund site" ... nothing to worry about.

• imeldanie
    Original Author
    9 years ago

hahaha okay thanks again

• Kimmsr
    9 years ago

Which "toxins" are you thinking of? Most all soils will have some lead in them, from paints made and applied before the mod 1970's and from vehicle exhaust. However, most exposure to that soil borne lead is from eating the soil and not from plants which do not uptake that very readily. Arsenic will be in most all plants in small quantities as a defense against insect pests, but not in enough quantity to harm you.
    Soil borne toxins can be a problem and should never be brushed off with glibness.

Here is a link that might be useful: about soil toxins