Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
schreber_gaertner

How many yards do I need?

schrebergaertner
13 years ago

Hi again and thanks for the info on local OC bulk compost sources. The new bed is about 15x40 feet and looks like it hasn't been amended in quite a while. I've never worked a bed this large before, and have always made my own or in a pinch bought bags. This time I'll be buying by the yard, but I'm not sure how much to get. I'd like to be able to till in as much OM as I can without going overboard. Is there a rule of thumb for how many square feet of bed can be amended per cubic yard of compost?

Thanks!

Comments (12)

• darth_weeder
    13 years ago

one cubic yard will cover:
    40 square feet about 8 inches thick
    80 square feet about 4 inches thick
    160 square feet about 2 inches thick

so your 600 square foot bed would need:
    about 15 yards for 8" thick
    7 1/2 yards at 4"
    4 yards would do a little over 2" thick

hope this helps

• idaho_gardener
    13 years ago

I don't think you want to till compost in. I think you want to mix it into the top layer of topsoil and then cover that with a mulch.

• Lloyd
    13 years ago

I'd recommend two yards worked into the top three inches of soil.

Lloyd

• cowgirl2
    13 years ago

I agree with Lloyd. One inch of compost is good enough. Use a potato fork to dig it in to the depth of the tines.

• Kimmsr
    13 years ago

To compute how many cubic yards of any product you would need you multiply your Width (in feet) times Length (in feet) times Depth (in inches) to get the cubic feet involved and then divide that be 27 (the number of cubic feet in one cubic yard) to find out how many yards to order.
    So, 15 x 40 equals 600 square feet. If you want 1 inch of compost on that bed you multiply 600 times 1/12 (the Depth converted to feet) and find 50 cubic feet which is divided by 27 to get 1.85 cubic feet of compost needed.

• Lloyd
    13 years ago

((snicker))