Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
canyonsister

coffee grounds

canyonsister
13 years ago

I am confused about the use of spent coffee grounds...I know that coffee grounds are considered "green" and high in nitrogen when added to compost, but I have heard that when added directly to soil around plants, that they will "rob" nitrogen from the plants for a period of time while they are broken down by soil organisms. Is the same true of other "geeen" materials such as grass clippings? Do only animal manures immediately ADD available nitrogen? I have an abundance of coffee grounds that I would like to use for mulch in perennial beds but don't want to rob nitrogen from my already marginal soil. Should I top dress with an "organic" fertilizer (like Milorganite) at the same time?

Comments (12)

• brdldystlu
    13 years ago

I don't know if it will rob nitrogen as I have been putting it on my lawn for a couple years now and I have one of the greenest lawns on my court. I also don't have moles anymore but the neighbors all do.
    The one thing I do know is you put to much grounds down it will repel water, I have always mixed it lightly into the soil when using it in a garden. Again I don't ever see an issue with the nitrogen in my gardens.

• lcpw_gw
    13 years ago

Coffee grounds won't "rob" nitrogen from your soil while decomposing - nor will anything classified as a "green." Things that are "greens" have sufficient (or excess) nitrogen to nourish all of the bacteria that will consume the carbon contained in the material.

I like it better as a topdressing than as a mulch ... when I hear the term "mulch" I think of something that will be put down thickly enough to hold water in and to discourage weeds sprouting through; I think if you put coffee grounds down that thickly they may behave oddly (repelling water as brdldystlu described, or molding). If you're putting it on thinly (1/4 inch? maybe a bit more?) it should not give you trouble in those ways I think.

• Kimmsr